WGN America Encores First Season of 'Salem' on April 4

Marathon Airs Day Before Second-Season Bow
Author:
Updated:
Original:
Salemfirstseason.jpg

Those who missed the first season of WGN America' s initial orginal scripted series Salem, or want to relive the supernatural skein will have their chance on April 4.

WGN will encore the show's entire, 13-installment rookie campaign beginning at 7 a.m. (ET)/ 6 a.m. (CT). The marathon will serve as a lengthy primer for the series' second-season bow on April 5 at 10 p.m. (ET)/9 p.m. (CT). Check out the sophomore season trailer here.

In Salem, the witches may be real, but they are not who or what they seem.  Season two opens at the dawn of a Witch War in 17th-century colonial Massachusetts.  As the disease and devastation unleashed by a deadly supernatural ritual spread through the war-torn village, Salem's most powerful witch, Mary Sibley, must face off against adversaries old and new who are vying for her throne.

From creators and writers Brannon Braga (Cosmos, 24) and Adam Simon (The Haunting in Connecticut), Salem stars Janet Montgomery (Human Target, Made in Jersey), Shane West (Nikita, ER), Seth Gabel (Arrow, Fringe), Ashley Madekwe (Revenge), Tamzin Merchant (Jane Eyre), Elise Eberle (The Astronaut Farmer) and Iddo Goldberg (Mob City). 

New cast members this season:  Lucy Lawless (Xena: Warrior Princess, Spartacus), Stuart Townsend (Betrayal, The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen), Joe Doyle (Raw) and Oliver Bell (The Saint).

Related