WICT Names Abbe Raven 'Woman of the Year'

Bernadine Han, Marjorie Kaplan Named 'Women to Watch'

Women in Cable Telecommunications named Abbe Raven, chairman, A+E Networks, as the recipient of its 2013 Woman of the Year award. WICT's 2013 Woman to Watch honorees are Bernadine Han, vice president of news and local programming, at Time Warner Cable, and Marjorie Kaplan, group president of Animal Planet, Science Channel & Velocity, at Discovery Communications.

The awards will be presented during the WICT Touchstones Luncheon on Oct.7 at the New York Marriott Marquis, in conjunction with the annual WICT Leadership Conference and during Cable's Diversity Week. The WICT Touchstones Luncheon is sponsored by WE tv.

"We are extraordinarily proud to award Abbe Raven, Bernie Han and Marjorie Kaplan with WICT's highest individual honors, Woman of the Year and Woman to Watch, in recognition of their significant contributions to the cable industry," Maria E. Brennan, CEO of WICT, said in a release. "They each exemplify the Touchstones of Leadership that WICT champions and we look forward to showcasing their achievements during our luncheon in October." 

The Woman of the Year award is awarded to a woman in cable media who has made increasingly significant contributions to her company and the overall cable telecommunications industry throughout her career. The Woman to Watch award is bestowed on women in cable who show tremendous promise for transforming the industry through professional accomplishments, exemplary leadership, and strong dedication to the industry.