Willner Named NCTA Chairman


Chicago -- Insight Communications Co. Inc. CEO Michael S. Willner moved up
from vice chairman to chairman of the board of directors of the National Cable
& Telecommunications Association.

The board met Wednesday at the association's national convention here.

Willner succeeds 2000-2001 chairman Joseph Collins, chairman of Time Warner

Other 2001-2002 officers are: vice chairman Jerald L. Kent, CEO of Charter
Communications Inc.; secretary John J. Rigas, chairman of Adelphia
Communications Corp.; and treasurer Brian Roberts, president of Comcast

The officers and NCTA CEO Robert Sachs serve on the NCTA executive committee.
Other executive committee members are The Weather Channel CEO Decker Anstrom,
Showtime Networks Inc. chairman Matthew Blank, Collins, A&E Television
Networks CEO Nickolas Davatzes, Cablevision Systems Corp. CEO James Dolan,
Advance/Newhouse Communications president Robert Miron, Cox Communications Inc.
CEO James Robbins and AT&T Broadband CEO Daniel Somers.

Elected to new terms as directors were: associate director (re-elected to a
two-year term) John Egan, chairman of Antec Corp.; at-large system director
Ronald Duncan, CEO of GCI Cable Inc. (newly elected to a three-year term);
at-large system director James Pearson, CEO of U.S. Cable Corp. (re-elected to a
three-year term); at-large programmer director (re-elected to a two-year term)
Davatzes; at-large programmer director John Hendricks, chairman of Discovery
Communications Inc.; at-large programmer director Haim Saban, CEO of Saban
Entertainment/Fox Family Worldwide Inc.; at-large director (newly elected to a
two-year term) Geraldine Laybourne, chairman of Oxygen Media; at-large director
Maggie Wilderotter, CEO of Wink Communications Inc.; and rural/small-system
operator director (re-elected to a two-year term) Joseph S. Gans III, CEO of
Gans Multimedia Partnership.

Other NCTA directors are ESPN Inc. president George W. Bodenheimer,
Susquehanna Media Co. CEO Peter P. Brubaker, Mediacom Communications Corp.
chairman Rocco Commisso, CommScope Inc. chairman Frank Drendel, Evans
Telecommunications Co. chairman John D. Evans, Midcontinent Communications
president Joseph Floyd, BET Holdings Inc. chairman Robert Johnson, Turner
Broadcasting System Inc. chairman Jamie Kellner, Cable One Inc. CEO Thomas
Might, Eagle Communications CEO Gary Shorman, Sjoberg's Inc. CEO Richard Sjoberg
and Millennium Digital Media CEO Kelvin Westbrook.