Costner, Howard, Chastain To Be Honored at 20th Annual Critics Choice Movie Award

Publish date:

New York, NY— Kevin Costner, Ron Howard and Jessica Chastain will receive special honors at the “20th Annual Critics’ Choice Movie Awards” on January 15th, it was announced today by Joey Berlin, President of the Broadcast Film Critics Association (BFCA).  Celebration of the achievements of these incredible talents will be showcased during the two-hour live broadcast, hosted by Michael Strahan from the Hollywood Palladium on January 15th at 9pm ET/ 6pm PT on A&E.

Kevin Costner, winner of two Academy Awards® and a Primetime Emmy® Award, will be honored with the “Lifetime Achievement Award” celebrating more than three decades of incredible work in film. He is currently being acclaimed for his starring role in writer-director Mike Binder’s terrific new drama, Black or White.  Costner’s remarkable career has spanned comedy, action and drama with unforgettable roles in The Untouchables, Field of Dreams, JFK, Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves and The Bodyguard. Costner’s exceptional filmmaking abilities were showcased in Dances with Wolves, which he produced, directed and starred in. The film was honored with seven Academy Awards®, including ‘Best Picture’ and ‘Best Director.’  Costner was previously nominated in 2006 for a Critics’ Choice Movie Award for Best Supporting Actor for his role in The Upside of Anger and in 2012 for a Critics’ Choice Television Award for his role in History’s “Hatfields & McCoys.”  Previous recipients of the Critics’ Choice Lifetime Achievement Award include Clint Eastwood, Robert Wise and Lauren Bacall.

The LOUIS XIII Critics’ Choice Genius Award is established by LOUIS XIII Cognac, considered as the king of Cognac since 1874.  The award honors icons who have demonstrated unprecedented excellence in the cinematic arts and will be presented to multiple award-winning director, producer and actor Ron Howard.  His exciting new film In the Heart of the Sea, starring Chris Hemsworth, will be released on March 13, 2015.  Howard has seamlessly transitioned from acting in the beloved television series “Happy Days” and “The Andy Griffith Show” to becoming the director of such unforgettable films as Splash, Cocoon, Parenthood,A Beautiful Mind, Frost/Nixon, The Da Vinci Code and Apollo 13. Throughout his career he has been honored with multiple honors, including two Academy Awards® and two Primetime Emmy® Awards.  Howard has been nominated for three Critics’ Choice Movie Awards, winning one for Best Director for A Beautiful Mind.  Previous winners of the LOUIS XIII Genius Award include Judd Apatow and Richard Linklater.

The inaugural “Critics’ Choice MVP Award,” celebrating one extraordinary actor for her work in several standout movies throughout a single year, will go to Academy Award® nominee Jessica Chastain.  She is being saluted for starring in the filmsInterstellar, Miss Julie, A Most Violent Year and The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby. A graduate of the esteemed Juilliard School, Chastain has taken the big screen by storm. Her many distinguished performances include the critically acclaimed drama The Help as well as a breakout role in the award-winning film, Zero Dark Thirty.  In 2012, Time magazine featured her as one of the ‘100 Most Influential People in the World.’  Chastain has been nominated for three Critics’ Choice Movie Awards, winning two, for Best Acting Ensemble in 2011 for The Help and Best Actress in 2013 for Zero Dark Thirty.

Nominees for the 20th annual “Critics’ Choice Movie Awards”­­ will be announced on Monday, December 15th.

A&E Network has partnered with the Broadcast Film Critics Association (BFCA) and the Broadcast Television Journalists Association (BTJA) to become the exclusive broadcaster of the “The Critics' Choice Movie Awards” and “The Critics' Choice Television Awards.”

“The Critics' Choice Awards” are bestowed annually by the BFCA and BTJA to honor the finest in cinematic and television achievement. The BFCA is the largest film critics' organization in the United States and Canada, representing almost 300 television, radio and online critics. BFCA members are the primary source of information for today's film-going public. BTJA is the collective voice of almost 100 journalists who regularly cover television for TV viewers, radio listeners and online audiences. Historically, the “Critics' Choice Movie Awards” are the most accurate predictor of the Academy Award nominations.

The “The 20th Annual Critics' Choice Movie Awards” are produced by Bob Bain Productions and Berlin Entertainment.

For the latest Critics’ Choice Awards news, exclusive content and more, be sure to follow along on social media and join the conversation using the official hashtag #CriticsChoice.

Twitter: @CriticsChoice



The Broadcast Film Critics Association (BFCA) is the largest film critics organization in the United States and Canada, representing almost 300 television, radio and online critics. BTJA is a branch of the BFCA. For additional information about the BFCA, BTJA and their memberships, visit

About A&E Network

Now reaching more than 96 million homes, A&E is the home to quality original content that inspires and challenges audiences to BE ORIGINAL. A&E offers a diverse mix of uniquely immersive entertainment ranging from the network’s original scripted series, including “Bates Motel” and “The Returned” to signature non-fiction franchises, including “Duck Dynasty,” “Wahlburgers” and “Storage Wars.” The A&E website is located at Follow us on Twitter at and Facebook at For more press information and photography please visit us at


To request media credentials to cover this show, you must fill out the application, which can be found here:  If you have any additional questions, please contact Andy Gelb or Elyse Weissman of Slate PR at 310-461-0111.