Nine Women Leaders Will Be Recognized with 2016 Touchstones of Leadership Awards


Washington, DC – September 14, 2016 – Nine powerful and effective women leaders who are making their mark on the cable telecommunications industry and in public policy, will be honored on Thursday, October 13, 2016, with Touchstones of Leadership Awards during the annual PowerBrokers Breakfast sponsored by the Women in Cable Telecommunications (WICT) Washington, D.C./Baltimore Chapter, at the National Press Club in Washington, DC.

The PowerBrokers Breakfast recognizes annual Touchstones of Leadership Awards honorees with the aim of raising awareness about women’s impactful contributions at the regional and local level of the cable telecommunications industry. 

Maria Brennan, President & CEO of WICT, will offer welcome remarks at the breakfast.  The 2016 Touchstones of Leadership Award Honorees include:

Know Yourself Award:

Evelyne Steward, Vice President, Global LifeWorks and Inclusion

Discovery Communications

Communicate Award:

Barbara York

Senior Vice President, Industry Affairs


Listen Award:

LaTanya Butler, Vice President, Marketing & Partnerships

TV One

Connect Award:

Tina Pidgeon, General Counsel, Chief Compliance Officer, and Senior Vice President, Governmental Affairs

General Communications Inc. (GCI)

Catalyst Award:

Jennifer Hightower, Senior Vice President & General Counsel, Law and Policy

Cox Communications Inc.

Geraldine B. Laybourne Fearless Award:

Mary McLaughlin

Senior Vice President, Beltway Region


Inspire Award:

Jadz Janucik

Senior Vice President, Association Affairs


Glenn Britt Emerging Leader Award:

Mary Pratt-Henaghan, Senior Vice President, Operations

BBC America

In addition, the 2016 Touchstone Award honoree for Outstanding Public Service is The Hon. Maureen Ohlhausen, Commissioner, U.S. Federal Trade Commission.

The WICT Washington, D.C/Baltimore Chapter’s Touchstones of Leadership Awards are dedicated to the WICT Touchstones of Leadership, which serve as a compass along the path of strategic and effective leadership development.  The Touchstones are:

  • Know Yourself. Know what you stand for.  Know where you’re going.
  • Communicate.  With passion and poise.  In writing and in person.
  • Listen.  With more than just your ears.
  • Connect.  To your peers, your industry, and everything around you.
  • Be A Catalyst.  Raise standards, promote respect. Set the wheels of change in motion.
  • Be Fearless.  Be confident in your convictions as you take risks and bring others along. 
  • Inspire. And others will follow. 

 The 2016 PowerBrokers Breakfast begins with registration at 8:00 a.m. on Thursday, October 13, followed by breakfast and the awards program. The event will be held at the National Press Club, 529 14th St., NW, 13th Floor, in Washington, DC.  Here’s more event information:  Those who wish to purchase tables or seats can register directly via EventBrite at

Recognition of this year’s WICT Washington, DC / Baltimore Chapter Touchstones of Leadership Award honorees is made possible at the PowerBrokers Breakfast by the sponsorship support of Charter Communications, Discovery Communications, Comcast, GCI, NCTA, Neustar, Scripps Networks Interactive, Team People, Turning Point, and TV One.

Television industry icon and entrepreneur Geraldine “Gerry” Laybourne will keynote the breakfast, and the program will be emceed by Val Nicholas, Vice President and Creative Director for NBC News at NBC Universal.

About WICT

For over thirty-five years, Women in Cable Telecommunications (WICT) has partnered with cable and telecommunications leaders to provide professional development programs, research and services that help advance women in cable media. With 10,000 members, WICT is the oldest and largest professional association serving women in the cable and telecommunications industry.  For more information about WICT and the Washington, D.C./Baltimore chapter, please visit