Syfy Announces Three Pilot Pick-Ups From Universal Cable Productions: ‘The Machine,’ ‘The Haunted,’ And ‘Happy!’


UNIVERSAL CITY, CA – Syfy today announced a pilot pick-up for three original dramas from Universal Cable Productions: THE MACHINE, THE HAUNTED and HAPPY!.

THE MACHINE is based on the 2013 cult hit film of the same name and will be executive produced and written by filmmaker Caradog James (director of “The Machine,” “Don’t Knock Twice”) with Red & Black Films. The film’s producer, John Giwa-Amu (“The Machine,” “The Party”), will also executive produce the pilot. Set in a world that is being transformed by the emergence of artificial intelligence, THE MACHINE explores the epic conflict between man and technology through the lives and motivations of six interwoven characters – each of whom holds the key to humanity’s victory or its destruction.

THE HAUNTED is a supernatural horror-drama about four siblings who reunite following their parents' deaths. As they try to overcome their fractured personal relationships they find that they must also face the literal ghosts from their past in order to survive. Noga Landau (“Tau,” “The Magicians”) wrote the pilot and is also a co-executive producer. Author James Frey and Todd Cohen of Full Fathom Five will executive produce.

New York Times best-selling author Grant Morrison (“Batman,” “The Invisibles”) and Brian Taylor (“Crank,” “Gamer”) will write and executive produce HAPPY!. Based on Morrison and Darick Robertson’s graphic novel of the same name, HAPPY! follows Nick Sax – an intoxicated, corrupt ex-cop turned hit man -- who is adrift in a world of casual murder, soulless sex and betrayal.  After a hit gone wrong, his inebriated life is forever changed by a tiny, relentlessly positive, imaginary blue winged horse. Neal  Moritz, Pavun Shetty and Toby Jaffe of Original Film (The Fast and the Furious franchise) will also executive produce. Taylor will also direct the pilot.

The three dramas join the previously announced Superman prequel KRYPTON from Warner Horizon Television, with executive producers David S. Goyer (“Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice,” “The Dark Knight” trilogy) and Damian Kindler (“Sleepy Hollow”), based on the characters created by Jerry Siegel and Joe Shuster, published by DC.